Raised beds?

Next year I have decided to go down the route of raised beds.

I spent this year battling with weeds after a slipped disc which saw me off my feet for nearly 3 months.  Writing out endless instructions for my husband when he went down there and dragging in the kids to help is fine short term but once they have a couple of weeks they cannot go things just go mad. So 3 weeks ago I went down there after scarcely enough time down there. Fortunately I had managed to grow loads, it was my first year growing leeks which was very successful.  It was also my first year of successfully growing peas.

Prior to this I had moaned yearly that my peas never came to much and the ones that did didn’t feed us for too long, but this year a bumper crop.

Anyway after getting down there and realising how much things had got out of hand I was quite despondent.  Yes I had grown a lot, I had a lot of fruit, an overflowing compost heap, a nice large space to work with however the weeds had got out of control over a couple of short weeks of no one getting down there.

The earth there isn’t great, the weeds love it but the root veg hate it and I have had endless crops of split and damaged veg.  So onward and upward and I ordered in the raised beds.  I spent last week putting 20 or so together and I have compost arriving Monday to fill them.  I have done a ton of weeding, covered the area with weed control and have a plan in place.

On top of all of that a nice fellow over the way came over and gave me a helping hand on the plot and started weeding an area for me. People are so kind. I still have more to finish and I will order more raised beds next week and take the collection of leaves down to put a good coverage over the top for the winter.  I will also get some manure delivered for some of the raised beds (obviously not the root veg).

Anyone else gone down the root of raised beds? Any particular reason why?

Louisa

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

